Once more dyed the rich red colour of sockeye salmon

real outfits for the lads: Smug Mountie is drunk with lemonade and power
real outfits for the lads: future redneck rancher is two seconds away from whuppin' you
real outfits for the lads: you can't see it, but this kid's wearing chaps.
Flashy Gene Autry sling style holster, with artificial firearm and Curse of Gene Autry
Real outfits for the panicked Home Front

Vitals

Written by the guy who hums to himself as he paws through the dumpster

Fueled by rage and fresh roasted peanuts

Design by
Die Schmutz

Worthwhile Palinode Pages:
Humpty's Menu:
one - two - three - four - five - six - seven - eight - nine - ten - eleven - twelve - thirteen - fourteen

Can't Stop the Link:
palinode's bloggier blog
The Modern Word
open brackets
smartypants
friday-films
luvabeans
buzzflash
new world disorder
sex & guts!
the memory hole
national pist
Milkmoney or Not
mirabile visu
The Web Revolution!

Fueled by rage and fresh roasted peanuts

uncle george and the mooncow

I've had a Phillip Glass string quartet going through my head all day. Do you know what it sounds like when you're humming Glass under your breath? It's like a lullaby to heavy machinery. Dah-duh dah-duh dah-duh dah-duh dah-duh DOOO dah-duh dah-duh dah-duh DOOO dah-duh dah-duh DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DAAA DA-DA repeat for five hours, until monophony destroys your mind.

Today's entry is short because I'm pressed for time and maximum flavour, but here's one of my all-time favourite George Wah Bush quotations, from the last days of his campaign:

This morning I talked to Secretary Cheney. We had a very good conversation. He sounded really strong, and he informed me that, as a precautionary measure, he went into the hospital. He was feeling chest pains, and turns out that subsequent test, blood tests, and the initial EKG showed that he had no heart attack. I'm pleased to report that I know all Americans join me and Laura in wishing him all the best.

....Secretary Cheney will make a great vice-president. And as I reported today - I'm pleased to report that he sounded very strong on the telephone. And he did the right thing. He felt some warning signs, and he went into the hospital and had them checked out. And he's going to make a great vice-president. And America's really beginning to see how strong and steady he is...

I'm looking forward to a good Thanksgiving meal, I might add, with my family. And Dick Cheney is healthy. He did not have a heart attack.

There's plenty to giggle at in this passage, but what it makes it really funny is that Dick Cheney had just had a heart attack.

What I find most fascinating is Bush's pleasure in reporting that the entire nation wished Cheney well. The more you inspect Bush's language, the more you realize that 'America,' for him, is not a nation full of individuals but a Faulkner caricature, a composite that ends up coming off like a slow cousin with a huge inheritance. Mother can't read to you today, America. She's resting. No, no, America, mother's not sick, she's just... she's tired, is all. She's all pale because she's tired. Now go fetch uncle a drink.

Later:

America, what did you go in your mother's room for? What did I say?
Uncle George, mamma's turned blue -
What did I say? She's tired, America. Tired! She's got a condition.
I was trying to take her this flower what I picked from behind the barn.
Behind the - what - America. Do you know what's behind the barn? Do you know what this flower was growing out of?
But Uncle George -
That flower's growing out of what the cows do, America. What the cows do.
But Uncle George -
You should know better. Mother loves you and she's tired.
- it was pretty.
Pretty, huh? I'm going to show you what's behind the barn. I'm going to show you how pretty it is back there, America.
Uncle, no! I'll get you your drink, Uncle! I'll go get you your drink!

Retracted on 2003-08-20::5:53 p.m.


parode - exode


Listed on BlogsCanada Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com